handdator

Visa fullständig version : Greetings, Pirates, Arrrrgh

2009-07-08, 11:08
Greetings, Pirates and Various Sundry Scaliwags:

I have read your statements with interest, amusement and disdain.

Surprisingly, I agree with a lot of what you say. For example, I think it is ridiculous that copyrights extend 70 years after the death of the author. However, your proposal of five years is just as silly.

I think it quite interesting that the article you guys wrote and I read was copyrighted.

I know you don't want to hear this, but the world revolves around MONEY! Dang those enterprising people, they want to be rewarded for their work. This is true whether they are singing a didy or creating the cure for cancer.

Take away the reward for enterprising work... and there won't be any. The pursuit of profit may be EVIL, but without it, we would still be weighing damsels to see if they are ducks to be declared witches. She turned me into a newt!

I am a photographer. I shoot sports photography for my local newspaper for which I am not compensated (my choice). I use to spend hours of my time making the photographs available online for purchase to help support my habit - my camera kit cost more than $4,000. People loved my pictures. I found them all over My Space. I made a name for myself. Very few actually purchased them. I don't put them up any more.

If you ruled the world... nobody would put them up anymore.

Thank you.

Beauxdog

Billy Gellerstedt
2009-07-11, 13:22