Piratpartiets mötesplattform

Svara

Ämnesverktyg Sök i det här ämnet Visningsalternativ
  (#1) Gammal
marthafokker Inte uppkopplad

Reg.datum: Dec 2006
Standard relakks on linux low mtu suddenly causes protocol-reject errors [Solved] - 2006-12-21, 01:29

Hey guys I've been using the relakks vpn service on a linux box for a few months now and after a shaky start the service has been stable and fast since they upgraded their hardware last month. Well after a month of trouble free service my vpn connection crawled to a halt and my logs showed numerous

Citat:
Protocol-Reject for unsupported protocol 0xXXXX

errors and the debug output showed even more

Citat:
LCP ProtRej id=0xXXXX

errors.

I hadn't changed anything on my machine or router at all so I began to suspect a problem with the relakks servers again. After much experimentation I discovered that tweaking my mtu/mru settings got rid of the problem. I had been using 1200 for my mtu/mru settings in the pppd options because higher settings would cause the vpn tunnel to disconnect but now i find i need to set it as high as i can go to prevent the protocol-reject errors. I settled on 1400 as a safe setting at first and it seemed to work fine for a few hours but the errors came back and now I have pushed it up to 1450 which is as high as i can go before the connection starts dropping as soon as it is established. The errors seemed to have gone away but I have nagging feeling that they might come back again.

I'm wondering if anyone has experienced this problem as well because i can't find a reference to this on the few forums that i have been searching.